[Review] Content – The Man who quit money

I had been leisurely re-reading parts of the book. Some of it is related to ideas to my prior post.

It has been a crack at my worldview in the last month or so. Perhaps this began in my secondary school years when I walked through the aftermath of a crime scene at my housing estate. The dried blood of a failed robbery spanning a few flights of stairs. The target: an elderly man with some physical possessions; in the middle of the night. (One neighbour and the victim’s son came to his rescue). The perpetrator was verbally unrepentant.

I benefited in a way – seeing the violence (in a country like Singapore) and writing a Chinese journal article that received an ‘A’ (I think). But that is not the most important. The imperative was I asked a question: What is money worth?

It seemed worth killing over.

=====================================

Back to the book. To Suelo, money ‘felt like a ball and chain.’ (p. 22) By analogy, having fame can also be a great burden. You become so scared of losing it, that you stop being yourself. To return once more, I continue to experience it myself, be it in money or in assets (get a house! At least you have a roof over over head!) There is pressure to conform.

To buy into (yes, pun intended!) the system means paying various levels of interests. Apparently, it was limited in America to 10% by the US Congress but only until 1980. (p. 195)

However, as the last pages of the book suggests, freedom is possible (at least to a significant degree). Consider the examples of John the Baptist who ate locusts and wild honey in the desert; Suelo (even though he might be heading back into the system so that he can take care of his aging parents); even an Irishman named Mark Boyle.

On a side note, Ron Paul, the American politician who wrote ‘End the Fed’ (Fed referring to the US central bank), is also mentioned. [Concurrently, I am plowing through another book that also refers to Paul.]

I hope I have the courage to move in the right direction.

One thought on “[Review] Content – The Man who quit money

Leave a Reply

