The end of an era…

The New Paper (TNP), a Singapore based tabloid, came into my life during the Persian Gulf War (a topic featured in one of the Social Studies textbooks).

Perhaps it was in 1990 or 1991 (the year arguably where the Cold War ended), that I was so captivated by the pictures F-117 Nighthawk and the graphics of how the coalition forces ravaged the Iraqis. Concomitantly, there was the Scud missiles versus the Patriot Missiles in another swordfight. (The Patriots are still in action it seems, in Japan against North Korea).

Later on, I went to TNP for soccer. I am unsure if it was ravenous but I recall reading about Ian Wright (Arsenal), Liverpool, Robbie Fowler, and Manchester United. Those days there were weekly English Premiership matches available on television.

The entry I have in front of me now is from 15 Jan 2012, p.28. It has two striking articles:

S M Ong – Believing the Onion is like believing The Noose (The Onion or specifically the Onion News Network  won a Peabody Award in 2008. It is ‘…a web offshoot of the satirical tabloid The Onion, does fake news — specifically, fake cable news — so deftly that viewers may find themselves doing a double take.‘ People have unfortunately taken the ‘news’ to be fact.)

Sylvia Toh Paik Choo – I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one (she hopes for middle class heavy Singapore).

But now, I have stopped with TNP. I have even stopped reading daily news. It is often too basic. (Hear the last line of the 2004 movie from  A-1 Headline or Chinese name : A1頭條 where actor Tony Leung Ka Fai remarked that they only knew part of the full story.) I need depth that probably working papers from research institutes or at the least introductory guidebooks can provide . My most frequent read? The Business Times Weekend with its constituent Raffles Conversations. I would also try to read non-English originated papers/news like France 24. This is to balance the biases from the English speaking world.

Yes, the end of an era as I consign these pages to the karang-guni (rag and bone/recycling) man…

Leave a Reply

